American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


Chapter Awardees

From the January ACP Internist, copyright 2010 by the American College of Physicians

Chapters honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their chapter, and ACP. Awardees have a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in November and December 2010:

Air Force

Col. (ret) John E. McManigle, FACP, Rockville, Md., Laureate Award

Col. (ret) John R. Downs, FACP, San Antonio, Texas, Laureate Award

Lt. Col. Jeffrey S. La Rochelle, FACP, Montgomry Village, Md., Archie Hoffman Award


William T. Browne, FACP, Minneapolis, Minn., Laureate Award

Michael A. Berry, FACP, Roanoke, Va., Laureate Award

Lt. Col. Michael J. Morris, FACP, San Antonio, Texas, Laureate Award

Stephen M. Salerno, FACP, Tacoma, Wash., Master Teacher Award

Christopher J. Lettieri, FACP, Alexandria, Va., Crosby Research Award

Maj. Patricia Short, FACP, Puyallup, Wash., Moser Award

Col. Donald “Skip” G. Mondragon, FACP, Evans, Ga., Operational Medicine Award

California Northern Region

Darin A. Latimore, MD, Fair Oaks, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Toni J. Brayer, FACP, San Francisco, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Stanley L. Schrier, FACP, Stanford, Laureate Award

Edward D. Harris Jr., MACP, Menlo Park, Laureate Award

District of Columbia

Andrew N. Umhau, FACP, Washington, D.C., John Maher Memorial Laureate Award

Joseph P. Swift, FACP, Chevy Chase, Md., Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Jeffrey S. La Rochelle, FACP, Montgomery Village, Md., Leadership Award

Matthew L. Mintz, FACP, Washington, D.C., Sol Katz Teaching Award

Dragica K. Mrkoci, FACP, Silver Spring, Md., Sol Katz Teaching Award

James T. Williams, FACP, Silver Spring, Md., Walter Lester Henry Jr. Memorial Award for a Lifetime of Excellent Teaching

Joseph Lindsay, Jr., FACP, Washington, D.C., Walter Lester Henry Jr. Memorial Award for a Lifetime of Excellent Teaching


Gary M. Rull, FACP, Springfield, Laureate Award

Daniel F. Dilling, FACP, Maywood, Laureate Award


Robert M. Lubitz, FACP, Indianapolis, Laureate Award

Jeffrey C. Darnell, FACP, Carmel, Laureate Award


Guenter L. Spanknebel, MD, Sterling, Laureate Award


Charles E. Hofmann, MACP, Baker City, Laureate Award

William C. Pierce, FACP, Salem, HP Lewis Service Award

Alan J. Hunter, MD, Portland, HP Lewis Teaching Award

Basil Pittenger, FACP, Coos Bay, Young Physician Award


Dennis Torretti, FACP, Danville, Laureate Award

Richard J. Baron, FACP, Philadelphia, Laureate Award


Eugene W. Stokes, FACP, San Angelo, Laureate Award

Don W. Powell, MACP, Galveston, Laureate Award

Mohamed M. Haq, FACP, Houston, Volunteerism and Community Service Award


John V. L. Sheffield, FACP, Seattle, Laureate Award


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview



Internist Archives Quick Links

New Leadership Webinars

New Leadership Webinars

The ACP Leadership Academy is offering FREE webinars covering the core tenets of leadership, leadership in hospital medicine, finance, and more.

Join ACP Today!

Join ACP Today!

ACP membership connects you with like-minded colleagues and provides access to a variety of clinical resources, practice tools, and ways to earn MOC and CME.