Officers and Regents election results announced

The election of Officers and Regents has been completed. Terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting and Town Hall scheduled to take place virtually on Sunday, May 2, 2021, from 1 to 2 p.m. EDT.

The election of Officers and Regents has been completed. Terms become effective at the conclusion of the Annual Business Meeting and Town Hall scheduled to take place virtually on Sunday, May 2, 2021, from 1 to 2 p.m. EDT. If you have any questions regarding the election, please contact Lauren Cruz at

2021-2022 Chair-elect, Board of Regents

Sue S. Bornstein, MD, FACP, Dallas

Dr Bornstein
Dr. Bornstein

Present positions: Executive director, Texas Medical Home Initiative; co-lead, Texas Primary Care Consortium, Dallas.

ACP activities: Member, Medical Practice and Quality Committee, 2010-2012; Governor-elect, Texas Northern Region, 2012-2013; Member, Membership Committee, 2012-2014; Governor, Texas Northern Region, 2013-2017; Member, Executive Committee, Board of Governors, 2013-2014; Member, Health and Public Policy Committee, 2014-2016, Vice-chair, 2016-2017, Chair, 2017-2019; Member, Governance Committee, 2015-2016; Member, National Network of Public Health Institutes Smoke-free Collaborative, 2016-2017 (representing ACP); Chair, Task Force on Diversity and Inclusion, 2017; Member, Board of Regents, 2017-present; Member, American Foundation for Firearm Injury Reduction in Medicine, 2018; Member, ACP Delegation to the American Medical Association, 2018-2019, Vice-chair, 2019-present; Member, ACP BOR Retreat Task Force, 2019; Member, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Subcommittee, 2018-2020, Chair, 2020; Member, Awards Committee, 2019-2020; Chair, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, 2020-present; Member, Governance Committee; 2020-present; Member, Physician Well-Being and Professional Fulfillment Committee, 2020-present; President, ACP Services, 2020-present; Chair, ACP Services PAC, 2020-present.

ACP Fellowship: 2003.

Medical school: Texas Tech School of Medicine, Lubbock, 1992.

Residency: Internal medicine, Baylor University Medical Center, 1992-1995.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1995, 2005, 2015.

New Regents elected with terms to expire in 2023

Jan K. Carney, MD, MPH, MACP, South Burlington, Vt.

Dr Carney
Dr. Carney

Present positions: Associate dean for public health and health policy, professor of medicine, Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont, Burlington, Vt.

ACP activities: Governor-elect, Vermont Chapter, 2014-2015; Governor, Vermont Chapter, 2015-2019; Member, Board of Governors, 2015-2019; Member, Patient Partnership in Healthcare Committee, 2015-2019; Member, Health and Public Policy Committee, 2017-2018, Vice-chair, 2018-2019; Member, Credentials Committee, 2019-present.

ACP Fellowship: 1998.

ACP Mastership: 2019.

Medical school: University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Cincinnati, 1981.

Residency: Internal medicine, Medical Center Hospital of Vermont, 1981-1984; chief resident, 1984-1985.

Fellowship: Public health, Harvard School of Public Health, 1986-1987.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1984; preventive medicine, 1989.

Charles J. Hamori, MD, FACP, CPC, La Mesa, Calif.

Dr Hamori
Dr. Hamori

Present positions: Partner, Southern California Permanente Medical Group, Pasadena, Calif.

ACP activities: Governor-elect, California Southern Region III, 2016-2017; Member, Executive Committee, Board of Governors, 2017-2018; Governor, California Southern Region III, 2017-present; Member, Coding and Payment Policy Subcommittee, 2018-present; Member, Board of Governors Resolu-tion Reference Com-mittee, fall 2019, Chair, fall 2020.

ACP Fellowship: 2007.

Medical school: University of California, San Diego (UCSD), School of Medicine, 1993.

Residency: Internal medicine, UCSD Medical Center, 1993-1996; chief resident, 1996-1997.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1996, 2006, 2016.

Marianne Parshley, MD, FACP, Portland, Ore.

Dr Parshley
Dr. Parshley

Present positions: General internal medicine physician, Providence Medical Group-Gateway Internal Medicine Clinic, Portland, Ore.

ACP activities: Governor-elect, Oregon Chapter, 2016-2017; Member, Task Force on Enhancing ACP's Local Presence, 2017-2018; Member, Chapters Subcommittee, 2017-2019, Chair, 2019-present; Governor, Oregon Chapter, 2017-2021; Member, Medical Practice and Quality Committee, 2018-2020, Vice-chair, 2020-present; Member, Advisory Group on Improving Documentation to Enhance EHR Technology and Usability, 2019-2020; Member, Task Force on Independent Practice, 2019-2020; Member, Executive Committee, Board of Governors, 2019-present; Member, Advisory Group on COVID-19 Social Distancing and Mitigation, 2020.

ACP Fellowship: 2011.

Medical school: Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, N.H., 1984.

Residency: Internal medicine, Providence Medical Center, 1985-1987; chief resident, 1987-1988.

Certification: Internal medicine, 1987, 2015.

President-elect and incumbent Regents

In addition to the 2021-2022 Chair-elect of the Board of Regents and new Regents, the President-elect and incumbent Regents have also been elected. The profiles of these individuals appeared previously in the November/December 2020 ACP Internist. They are as follows:

2021-2022 President-elect

Ryan D. Mire, MD, FACP, Nashville, Tenn.

Incumbent Regents

William E. Fox, MD, FACP, Charlottesville, Va.

Eileen M. Moser, MD, MHPE, MACP, Hershey, Pa.

Michael J. Tan, MD, FACP, Akron, Ohio