Chapter awards

Chapters honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their chapter, and ACP. Awardees have a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in Spring 2016:


Dan Matlock, MD, Early Career Physician Award

Ted Parks, MD, Service to the Chapter Award

Karla Demby, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Ted Palen, MD, FACP, Laureate Award


John Reinhardt, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Arun Malhotra, MBBS, Leonard P. Lang Award

Kaltheen Eldridge, MD, FACP, Hospitalist Award


Pierre V. Blanchard, MD FACP, Laureate Award

New Jersey

Ranita Sharma, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

North Carolina

Dawn S. Brezina, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Elaine Hart-Brothers, MD, MPH, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award


Edem Agamah, MD, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Jacqueline Fischer, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

David Meltzer, MD, PhD, FACP, Laureate Award


Janaki Deepak, MBBS, FACP, C. Lockard Conley Award


Harriet Bering, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Elisa Choi, MD, FACP, Chapter Leadership Award

Jacob Koshy, Student Leadership Award

Gene Lambert, MD, Young Leadership Award

New Mexico

Alberto Aguayo, MD, Resident Leadership and Service Award

Elizabeth Rodriquez, Medical Student Leadership and Service Award


Susan Lynch, Chapter Service Award

Aditi Singh, MD FACP, Chapter Service Award

Nadeem Tariq, MD, Volunteerism Award

Sandhya Wahi-Gururaj, MD FACP, Laureate Award

New York

Howard R. Kerpen, MD, FACP, Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award


James Baker, MD, FACP, Special Meritorious Award

Robert Hauger, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Matlock Jeffries, MD, Advocacy Award

Ali Mohammad, MBBch, FACP, Laureate Award


Felicia Austin-Jordan, MD, FACP, Snyder/Chumley Advocate of the Year Award

Eugene Boisaubin, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Kelsey Bryant, MD/MPH Candidate 2015, UTHSCSA/UTSPH, Andy Diehl On Being a Doctor Award

Robert Fine, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Aaron Samsula, MD, FACP, Early Career Physician Leader of the Year Award

Salim Surani, MD, MPH, MSHM, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Karen Szauter, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

U.S. Army

Maj. David Callender, MC USA, FACP, Col. Robert H. Moser Award

Lt. Col. Michael Ellis, MC USA, FACP, Col. William H. Crosby Excellence in Research Award

Col. William Kelly, MC USA, FACP, Master Teacher Award

Maj. Charles Magee, FACP, Excellence in Operational Medicine Award

Capt. Michael McMahon, Resident Clinical Vignette Competition

Capt. Victoria Sullivan, MD, Resident Research Competition


Phillip M. Sharp, MD, Wyoming Chapter Award