Chapter Awardees

In recognition of their outstanding service, individuals received chapter awards in September and October 2010.

Chapters honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their chapter, and ACP. Awardees have a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in September and October 2010:


Bruce A. Bethancourt, FACP, Laureate Award

Rupal Vora, MD, Educator of the Year

Helene Labonte, FACP, Internist of the Year

Pete Wertheim, Health Choice Arizona Advocacy of the Year

California Northern

Sheela S. Kapre, FACP, MBBS, Laureate Award

Toni J. Brayer, FACP, Volunteerism Award

Julieta M. Gabiola, FACP, Volunteerism Award

Sriram Shamasunder, MD, Young Physician Award

Paul B. Aronowitz, FACP, Outstanding Teacher/Mentor Award

Sara M. Rotner, MD, Associate Leadership Award

California Southern 1

Mark Richman, FACP, Laureate Award

California Southern 2

George Sarka, FACP, MPH, FACR, Volunteerism Award

Nosratola D. Vaziri, MACP, Laureate Award


Steven Wolfson, FACP, Laureate Award

Adam R. Silverman, FACP, Laureate Award

Yaw Amoateng-Adjepong, FACP, Thornton Award

Dan A. Henry, FACP, Thornton Award

Joseph L. Belsky, MACP, Thornton Award

Suzanne P. Lagarde, MD, Volunteerism Award


Henry M. Patton, FACP, Laureate Award

Illinois Downstate

Meenakshy K. Aiyer, FACP, Laureate Award

Illinois Northern

Vineet Arora, FACP, Laureate Award


David W. Crabb, FACP, Laureate Award

Fred W. Frick, FACP, Laureate Award


Aileen C. McCarthy, FACP, Laureate Award


Mary B. Duke, FACP, Laureate Award


Peter Bates, FACP, Laureate Award

Stephen R. Hayes, FACP, Community Volunteerism award


Carlos Petrozzi, FACP, Great Internist of Michigan Award

Scott Kaatz, FACP, Raymond H. Murray Governor's Award

Richard Wakulat, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

Gary Ferenchick, FACP, Laureate Award

Kim Eagle, FACP, Laureate Award

Dianne Levine, FACP, Laureate Award

Joseph Weiss, FACP, Lifetime Achievement Award


Lynne T. Shuster, FACP, Laureate Award


J. Chris Perryman, FACP, Laureate Award

Patrick H. White, MD, Volunteerism and Community Service Award


David W. Jordan, FACP, Laureate Award


CPT Barton C. Gumpert, FACP, Laureate Award


John J. Matoole, FACP, Laureate Award

Philip J. Dorman, MD, Volunteerism & Community Service Award

Claire Hunter, FACP, Walter O’Donahue Award

J. Scott Neumeister, FACP, LeeRoy Meyer Award

New Jersey

Nafisa Y. Bhoori, FACP, Laureate Award

New Mexico

Jonathan V. Iralu, FACP, Laureate Award

New York

Julian Ambrus, Jr., FACP, Laureate Award

Jitendra Barmecha, FACP, Laureate Award

Roy Gill, FACP, Laureate Award

Nazir Memon, FACP Laureate Award

Bilal Ahmed, FACP, MRCP (UK), MRCP (Ireland), Volunteerism Award

North Dakota

Kent Conrad, U.S. Senator, Community Service Award


Keith Armitage, FACP, Master Teacher Award

Satwant Singh, FACP, Master Teacher Award

George Litman, FACP, Laureate Award

South Carolina

James M. Hayes, FACP, Laureate Award

South Dakota

David L. Elson, FACP, Laureate Award

Eric M. Murunga, FACP, MBChB, Young Physician of the Year Award

Richard P. Holm, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award

James M. Barker, FACP, Volunteerism and Community Service Award


Robert A. Vegors, FACP, Laureate Award

Gordon J. Kraus, MD, Volunteerism Award


Mark Armstrong, FACP, Laureate Award

George Crawford, FACP, Laureate Award

U.S. Army

MG (Ret.) Elder Granger, FACP, Laureate Award

COL (Ret.) Jeffrey L. Jackson, FACP, MPH, Laureate Award

COL (Ret.) Steven A. Older, FACP, Laureate Award

COL (Ret.) Bernard J. Roth, FACP, Laureate Award


Grant W. Cannon, FACP, Laureate Award


Joyce Wipf, FACP, Laureate Award

West Virginia

Kevin Yingling, FACP, Laureate Award


Philip A. Bain, FACP, Distinguished Internist of the Year Award

Rita Hanson FACP, Helen Dickie Woman Physician of the Year Award

Marty Muntz, MD, Young Internist of the Year Award

Ted MacKinney, FACP, MPH, Addis Costello Award

Thomas Rex Flygt, FACP, Community-Based Physician and Mentor Award

Bonnie Tesch, FACP, Volunteerism & Community Service Award