American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


College News

From the April ACP Internist, copyright 2008 by the American College of Physicians.

ACP seeks workshop topics

The Clinical Skills Subcommittee (CSSC) and Medical Informatics Subcommittee (MISC) are accepting workshop proposals for Internal Medicine 2009.

The CSSC welcomes all proposals but places a priority on interactive workshops that focus on the acquisition or improvement of physical examination skills, communication skills and procedural skills. The CSSC is most interested in workshops that have a high likelihood of changing physician behavior using proven teaching techniques or new and innovative teaching strategies that have yet to be tested. ACP can offer a variety of time slots including 60, 90 and 120 minutes, as well as a one or two day pre-session workshops.

MISC welcomes all proposals but places a priority on interactive workshops that focus on the use of technology and computer applications in the care of patients and the management of medical practice. The MISC is most interested in workshops that have a high likelihood of encouraging use of technology and computer applications shown to improve quality of care, patient safety, and practice management efficiency. ACP Internal Medicine offers a variety of learning formats including interactive computer workshops, lectures and panel presentations. ACP supplies each computer workshop with 12 computers with internet connection; each computer is shared by two learners.

Resources permitting, ACP will assist course directors in the acquisition of necessary equipment (beyond audiovisual equipment) and follow-up evaluations of learners. CSSC and MISC workshop faculty receive financial support for travel to the meeting, a per diem (hotel and food), meeting registration, and a small honorarium. Final selections of workshops are made at the annual program planning meeting in June 2008.

To suggest a workshop, complete this online application. Attach a copy of your curriculum vitae and mail (or e-mail) these to the address below by June 1, 2008.

Patrick C. Alguire, FACP
Director, Education and Career Development
American College of Physicians
190 N. Independence Mall West
Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572


Chapter awardees honored

Chapters honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their region, their chapter and ACP. Awardees are physicians with a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in January, February and March 2008:

Central America
Guillermo G. Rodriguez, FACP, San Jose, Costa Rica, Laureate Award

Col. Sterling G. West, MACP, Aurora, Laureate Award
Walter G. Briney, FACP, Denver, Volunteerism & Community Service Award

R. Bradley Slease, FACP, Wilmington, Laureate Award
Bhaskar S. Palekar, FACP, Lewes, Laureate Award
Brian M. Aboff, FACP, Hockessin, Leonard Lang, MD Award
Jennifer A. Genuardi, ACP Associate Member, Newark, The Parag Bakshi Award
Thinesh Dahanayake, MD, Bear, The Parag Bakshi Award

Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, FACP, Augusta, Laureate Award
Henry M. Patton, FACP, Covington, Volunteerism & Community Service Award
James A. Hotz, ACP Member, Albany, Leadership Award
Lisa Bernstein, ACP Member, Atlanta, J.W. Hurst Teaching Award

Daniel C. Davis Jr., FACP, Honolulu, Laureate Award

Maj. William J. Yost, FACP, Des Moines, Laureate Award
Scott R. Wilson, FACP, Iowa City, Laureate Award
William B. Galbraith, MACP, Cedar Rapids, Volunteerism & Community Service Award
Thomas J. McIntosh, MACP, Bertram, Career Excellence Award

Fortune A. Dugan, FACP, Kenner, Laureate Award
Richard B. Langford, FACP, Shreveport, Laureate Award

Richard J. Gross, MD, Luthvle Timon, Samuel P. Asper Award
David E. Kern, FACP, Baltimore, Theodore E. Woodward Award
Chris V. Plowe, MD, Columbia, Mary Betty Stevens Award

Joe C. Files, FACP, Jackson, Laureate Award

New Jersey
Madhu B. Goyal, FACP, South Plainfield, Laureate Award

New York Downstate
Anthony J. Grieco, FACP, New York, Laureate Award
Allen L. Chodock, FACP, Mamaroneck, Laureate Award
Ralph K. Della Ratta, FACP, Mineola, Laureate Award

North Carolina
Thomas D. Dubose Jr., FACP, Winston Salem, Laureate Award
Clare J. Sanchez, FACP, Raleigh, Volunteerism & Community Service Award
Byron J. Hoffman Jr., FACP, Siler City, Volunteerism & Community Service Award

Sarah T. Corley, FACP, McLean, Laureate Award
Richard P. Wenzel, MACP, Richmond, Laureate Award
Glenn C. Jones, FACP, Danville, Young Internist Award


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.