American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


ACP announces new Masters and service awardees

From the January-February ACP Observer, copyright © 2006 by the American College of Physicians.

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the College's Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at the 2006 Annual Session.

Those who wrote supporting letters for nominees will receive additional notification, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to submit new nominations.

If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please e-mail Meghann Williams, Administrative Representative for Awards, at or call 800-523-1546, ext. 2714; or Martha Cornog, Manager of Membership Services, or 800-523-1546, ext. 2696.

The following are new ACP awardees:

John Phillips Memorial Award
Myron L. Weisfeldt, FACP
, Ruxton, Md.

James D. Bruce Memorial Award
Nancy A. Rigotti, FACP
, Lincoln, Mass.

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award
Whitney W. Addington, MACP
, Chicago

American College of Physicians Award
Peter C. Agre, MD
, Baltimore

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award
Project HOPE
, Millwood, Va.

William C. Menninger Memorial Award
Glenn Treisman, MD, PhD
, Baltimore

Distinguished Teacher Award
Shahbudin H. Rahimtoola, MACP
, Los Angeles

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #1
Susan H. Hou, FACP
, River Forest, Ill.

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #2
John I. Gallin, FACP
, Potomac, Md.

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award
Warren W. Furey, MACP
, Chicago

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award
2006: Edmund D. Pellegrino, MACP, Bethesda, Md.
2007: Charles S. Bryan, MACP, Columbia, S.C.

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Marcel Tuchman, FACP
, New York

Joseph F. Boyle Award
Former Gov. Mark R. Warner
, Richmond, Va.

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award
David W. Gregory, FACP
, Nashville, Tenn.

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award
The Feinstein Award will not be given in 2006.

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Susan Thompson Hingle, FACP
, Springfield, Ill.

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Lisa L. Ellis, ACP Associate Member
, Sioux Falls, S. D.

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Barry J. Wu, FACP
, New Haven, Conn.

52 new Masters to be honored at 2006 Annual Session

The following College Fellows will advance to Mastership this year at Annual Session in Philadelphia:

Masood Akhtar, Milwaukee
Ronnie J. Anderson, Dallas
Stephen C. Beuttel, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Keith M. Brownsberger, Anchorage
Robert A. Clark, San Antonio
N. Thomas Connally, Arlington, Va.
Jerry C. Daniels, Galveston, Texas
William F. Denny, Tucson, Ariz.
Edgar R. Dickson, Rochester, Minn.
R. Philip Eaton, Albuquerque, N.M.
Theodore C. Eickhoff, Denver
Earl R. Ensrud, Champaign, Ill.
John F. Farrington, Boulder, Colo.
Mark Feldman, Dallas
Anthony S. Felsovanyi, Menlo Park, Calif.
Jose A. Filos-Diaz, Panama, Panama
Robert L. Frye, Rochester, Minn.
Manuel Garcia de los Rios, Santiago, Chile
Abraham Garcia-Kutzbach, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Mario Geller, MACP, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil*
Hossein Gharib, Rochester, Minn.
Robert S. Gibson, Charlottesville, Va.
Ben D. Hall, Johnson City, Tenn.
R. Brian Haynes, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
C. Anderson Hedberg, Winnetka, Ill.
William L. Henrich, MACP, Baltimore*
Jerome M. Hershman, Los Angeles
Richard J. Kahn, Rockport, Maine
Emmet B. Keeffe, Palo Alto, Calif.
Gerald R. Kerby, Kansas City, Kan.
Rashida A. Khakoo, Morgantown, W.Va.
Richard B. Kohler, Indianapolis
Mack A. Land, Memphis
Eugene P. Libre, Kensington, Md.
Geraldo Medeiros-Neto, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Glenn Molyneaux, Santa Rosa, Calif.
Owen St. C. Morgan, Kingston, Jamaica
Thomas J. Nasca, Philadelphia
Nancy H. Nielsen, Orchard Park, N.Y.
James G. Nuckolls, Galax, Va.
Joseph T. Painter, FACP, Houston
Jose Ramirez-Rivera, San Juan, Puerto Rico
E. Chester Ridgway, MACP, Denver*
Louis L. Sanders, Little Rock, Ark.
D. William Schlott, Baltimore
Emil Skamene, Montreal
Alexander M. Sloan, Severna Park, Md.
W. James Stackhouse, Goldsboro, N.C.
David E. Steward, Springfield, Ill.
Donna E. Sweet, Wichita, Kan.
Esther A. Torres, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Roger H. Unger, Dallas
Alan G. Wasserman, Washington
Christopher S. Wilcox, Washington
Neal S. Young, Washington

*Received Mastership last year but could not attend Convocation.


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview



Internist Archives Quick Links

ACP JournalWise

Reviews of the World's Top Medical Journals—FREE to ACP Members!

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 RecordingsACP JournalWiseSM is mobile optimized with optional email alerts! Get access to reviews from over 120 of the world’s top medical journals alerting you to the highest quality, most clinically relevant new articles based on your preferred areas of specialty. ACP Members register your FREE account now!

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 Recordings

New CME Package

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 RecordingsIncludes 75 of the most popular sessions in internal medicine and the subspecialties. Stream the sessions, answer brief quizzes and earn CME credit. See details.