American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


ACP announces new Masters and service awardees

From the April ACP Observer, copyright © 2005 by the American College of Physicians.

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College Awards and Masterships at the 2005 Annual Session.

One new award being presented at Convocation for the first time in 2005 is the Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Educator. This award recognizes a physician, internal medicine interest group leader, clinical clerkship director, program director or faculty member (no higher than the level of an associate professor of medicine) who spends a significant amount of time teaching medical students.

If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Amy Allen-Collins, Awards Committee Administrator, at 800-523-1546, ext. 2692, or 215-351-2692 or by e-mail at

John Phillips Memorial Award
John P. Phair, MACP
, Chicago

James D. Bruce Memorial Award
John Glenn Morris Jr., FACP
, Baltimore

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award
Jock Murray, MACP
, Halifax, Nova Scotia

American College of Physicians Award
Janet D. Rowley, MD
, Chicago

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award
Interfaith House of Chicago

Distinguished Teacher Award
Edward C. Lynch, MACP
, Houston

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #1
Ruth M. Parker, FACP
, Atlanta

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #2
Eric E. Whitaker, MD
, Chicago

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award
Alva B. Weir Jr., FACP
, Memphis, Tenn.

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award
Jerome Lowenstein, FACP
, New York City

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Vincent Delduca Jr., MD
, Rockland, Del.

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Mark B. McClellan, FACP
, Washington

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Mohan M. Nadkarni, FACP
, Charlottesville, Va.

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award
Denis A. Evans, MD
, Chicago

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Allen R. Friedland, FACP
, Hockessin, Del.

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Sherry A. Guardiano, ACP Member
, Gaithersburg, Md.

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Educator
Steven J. Durning, FACP
, Montgomery Village, Md.


45 new Masters to be honored at Annual Session

The following College Fellows will advance to Mastership this year at Annual Session in San Francisco:

William M. Bennett, Portland, Ore.
Harry W. Carloss Jr., Paducah, Ky.
George P. Chrousos, Bethesda, Md.
Carolyn M. Clancy, Rockville, Md.
Charles K. Francis, New York
Eric P. Gall, Chicago
William G. Gardner, Akron, Ohio
Mario Geller, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Paul Gitman, New Hyde Park, N.Y.
Jeffrey Glassroth, Madison, Wis.
Martin Goldberg, Philadelphia
David B. Hellman, Baltimore
William L. Henrich, Baltimore
Isabel V. Hoverman, Austin, Texas
William James Howard, Washington
John P. Howe III, Washington
James P. Knochel, Dallas
Sonny Folorunso Kuku, Lagos, Nigeria
Rajiv Kumar, Rochester, Minn.
Eric B. Larson, Seattle
Nicholas F. La Russo, Rochester, Minn.
Edmund J. Lewis, Chicago
Kenneth M. Ludmerer, St. Louis
D. Joanne Lynn, Washington
Milford C. Maloney, Williamsburg, Va.
Manuel Martinez-Maldonado, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Brian J. McMahon, Anchorage, Alaska
Stephen Ray Mitchell, Washington
Dwight I. Peretz, West Vancouver, British Columbia
John J. Popovich Jr., Birmingham, Mich.
Udaya B.S. Prakash, Rochester, Minn.
Carlos Ramirez-Boettner, Asuncion, Paraguay
I. Drummond B. Rennie, Jacksonville, Ore.
E. Chester Ridgway, Denver
Griffin P. Rodgers, Bethesda, Md.
Charles B. Roehrig, Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Shaun Ruddy, Richmond, Va.
Geraldine P. Schechter, Bethesda, Md.
K. M. Mohmed Shakir, Bethesda, Md.
John N. Sheagren, Chicago
Joseph Silva Jr., Davis, Calif.
Jay S. Skyler, Miami
Paul F. Speckart, San Diego
David H. Spodick, Worcester, Mass.
Abraham C. Verghese, San Antonio
Aaron I. Vinik, Norfolk, Va.
Sterling G. West, Aurora, Col.
Richard B. Whiting, St. Louis
Edward T. Zawada Jr., Sioux Falls, S.D.


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview



Internist Archives Quick Links

ACP JournalWise

Reviews of the World's Top Medical Journals—FREE to ACP Members!

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 RecordingsACP JournalWiseSM is mobile optimized with optional email alerts! Get access to reviews from over 120 of the world’s top medical journals alerting you to the highest quality, most clinically relevant new articles based on your preferred areas of specialty. ACP Members register your FREE account now!

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 Recordings

New CME Package

New CME Option: Internal Medicine 2014 RecordingsIncludes 75 of the most popular sessions in internal medicine and the subspecialties. Stream the sessions, answer brief quizzes and earn CME credit. See details.