American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


College announces service awardees and new Masters

From the March ACP Observer, copyright 2004 by the American College of Physicians.

At the 2004 Annual Session in New Orleans, the College will present 16 service awards, as well as honor 41 new College Masters.

Two new awards are being presented for the first time this year. One is the Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians, developed by the Young Physicians Subcommittee to recognize outstanding achievement by a physician under age 40 in leadership, academics—including publishing, teaching and mentoring—and/or volunteerism.

In addition, the Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award recognizes Associate members who have exemplified the College's mission "to enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care by fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine."

The following physicians and institutions will receive awards at this year's Convocation Ceremony:

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine

Halsted R. Holman, FACP, Palo Alto, Calif.

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine

Margaret E. Grigsby, FACP, Washington (Dr. Grigsby will also receive a Mastership.)

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians

Herbert S. Waxman, FACP, Philadelphia (posthumous)

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine

Harvey J. Alter, MACP, Bethesda, Md.

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution in the Health Field

Mercy Health Clinic, Potomac, Md.

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health

Abraham L. Halpern, FACP, Mamaroneck, N.Y.

The American College of Physicians Distinguished Teacher Award

Herbert L. Fred, FACP, Houston (Dr. Fred will also receive a Mastership.)

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award (for contributions to improving clinical care in internal medicine)

David A. Ansell, FACP, Oak Park, Ill.

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award (for increasing clinical and/or economic effectiveness in health care delivery or facility design)

Mark H. Johnston, FACP, Bethesda, Md.

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients

Alfred E. Stillman, MACP, Philadelphia

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine

Howard M. Spiro, MACP, New Haven, Ct.

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award

Barry J. Zeluff, FACP, Houston

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

The Honorable Jeff Bingaman, Albuquerque, N.M.

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service

Harold A. Braun, FACP, Missoula, Mont.

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians

Sima S. Desai, ACP Member, Portland, Ore.

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award

Susan C. Bleasdale, ACP Associate Member, Oak Park, Ill.


41 College Fellows become new Masters

The following College Fellows will advance to Mastership this year at Annual Session in New Orleans:

Robert C. Aber, Hershey, Pa.
James L. Achord, Brandon, Miss.
Louis M. Aledort, New York
M. Dewayne Andrews, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Lee Randol Barker, Baltimore
Werner F. Barth, Washington
John G. Bartlett, Baltimore*
James L. Bernene, New Britain, Ct.
Carol Mary Black, London
Martin J. Blaser, New York
Marion H. Brooks, Chicago
Michael S. Brown, Dallas
Kenneth D. Burman, Bethesda, Md.
David B. Carmichael, San Diego
Paul J. Davis, Albany, N.Y.
Charles P. Duvall, Hilton Head Island, S.C.
Lawrence H. Einhorn, Indianapolis, Ind.*
Herbert L. Fred, Houston
Joseph L. Goldstein, Dallas
Margaret E. Grigsby, Washington
Mary T. Herald, Summit, N.J.
James W. Holsinger Jr., Lexington, Ky.
Mahendr S. Kochar, Milwaukee
Calvin Murray Kunin, Columbus, Ohio
Derrick L. Latos, Wheeling, W.Va.*
Nicole Lurie, Washington
Eric C. Rackow, New York
James W. Reed, Atlanta
James B. Reuler, Portland, Ore.
Mohamed Awad-Alla Sallam, Cairo, Egypt
Martin A. Samuels, Boston
Charles V. Sanders, New Orleans
Louis Donald Saravolatz, Detroit
Dennis R. Schaberg, Memphis, Tenn.
William Schaffner, Nashville, Tenn.
Eugene R. Schiff, Miami
Louis M. Sherwood, Lower Gwynedd, Pa.
M. Boyd Shook, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Kelley M. Skeff, Stanford, Calif.
Pauline Y. Titus-Dillon, Washington
Kathleen M. Weaver, Lake Oswego, Ore.
Munsey S. Wheby, Charlottesville, Va.
Robert S. Wilkinson Jr., Washington
Walter R. Wilson, Rochester, Minn.*

* Received Mastership last year but could not attend the 2003 Annual Session. Will formally accept Mastership at the 2004 Convocation Ceremony.


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview



Internist Archives Quick Links

MKSAP 16 Holiday Special: Save 10%

MKSAP 16 Holiday Special:  Save 10%

Use MKSAP 16 to earn MOC points, prepare for ABIM exams and assess your clinical knowledge. For a limited time save 10% when you use priority code MKPROMO! Order now.

Maintenance of Certification:

What if I Still Don't Know Where to Start?

Maintenance of Certification: What if I Still Don't Know Where to Start?

Because the rules are complex and may apply differently depending on when you last certified, ACP has developed a MOC Navigator. This FREE tool can help you understand the impact of MOC, review requirements, guide you in selecting ways to meet the requirements, show you how to enroll, and more. Start navigating now.