American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


College briefs

From the April ACP-ASIM Observer, copyright 2002 by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

College chapters present 12 Laureate Awards

ACP-ASIM chapters presented Laureate Awards to 12 internists this winter. The awards honor College Fellows and Masters who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in medical care, education and research, and who have provided service to their communities, their regions and the College.

Awardees generally have been Fellows for 15 to 20 years, have a long history of excellence and peer approval in internal medicine and have served the College with distinction. Exceptional circumstances may modify these requirements.

The following individuals received the awards:

John D. Norton, FACP

James H. Newman, FACP

Russell C. Klein, FACP
James W. Wilson Jr., FACP

John F. Jackson, FACP

New Jersey
Ralph Kristeller, FACP

New York Downstate
John Francis Aloia, FACP
Paul J. Davis, FACP
Tanveer P. Mir, FACP

North Carolina
Philip F. Sparling, FACP

Puerto Rico
Carlos E. Girold, MACP

U.S. Air Force
Takeshi Wajima, FACP


New York Chapter receives heart disease grant

ACP-ASIM's New York Chapter received a $500,000 grant from New York state to educate patients and physicians about heart disease in women.

The grant, which was given to the chapter and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, will be used to fund a one-year educational project. Patient education efforts will focus in part on younger women who can reap long-term benefits by improving their diet and exercising.

Physician education efforts will focus on advances in how to treat heart disease in women. Because the condition often goes undetected in women until it is severe, 44% of women who have heart attacks die within a year, compared to 27% of men.


ACP-ASIM members in the news

  • H. Christopher Alexander III, FACP, has won the 2001 Burgess Gordon Award, which honors members of the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) advisory committee who have gone above and beyond their duties in supporting the CPT program's goals. Dr. Alexander is a member of the ACP-ASIM Third Party Relations Payment and Coding Subcommittee and has been the College's CPT advisor since 1998.

  • Brent W. Beasely, FACP, was one of 30 people who won a 2002 HHS Secretary's Primary Care Health Policy fellowship. The fellowship gives mid-career individuals a chance to learn more about issues facing U.S. health care, as well as an opportunity to meet movers and shakers in the field.


This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Access this FREE online educational program to help you safely prescribe opioids and manage patients with chronic pain. Online CME is available. Find out more.

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Contribute to the ACP Education Fund and support our profession and the young minds starting their careers.

Share your love of medicine by making a charitable donation today! All donations are tax-deductible.