American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®



From the November 1999 ACP-ASIM Observer, copyright 1999 by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

K. Frank Austen, FACP, has received the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize. This award recognizes significant breakthroughs in the understanding and curing of major diseases. Dr. Austen accomplished research enabling a new class of asthma medications, leukotriene inhibitors, to be developed. Dr. Austen is professor at Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School in Boston.

James L. Boyer, FACP, received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. This award recognizes sustained scientific contributions to the field of liver disease research. Dr. Boyer is being recognized for his 15 years as director of the Liver Center at Yale University in New Haven, Conn. Dr. Boyer still holds this position.

Michael J. Fine, FACP, and Brian F. Gage, ACP Member, received research funding from the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research, which funded 10 new research projects in all. The Guideline to Improve Quality of Initial Pneumonia Care, led by Dr. Fine as principal investigator, was granted $4, 944,640 and the Optimal Antithrombotic Therapy in Atrial Fibrillation project, led by Dr. Gage as principal investigator, was granted $377, 261.

James T. Frakes, FACP, has been named president of The American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. Dr. Frakes serves as director of the Digestive Disease Unit at OSF Saint Anthony Medical Center in Rockford, Ill. and is managing partner of Rockford Gastroenterology Associates, Ltd. Dr. Frakes has authored and co-authored numerous articles, and conducted lectures, panel discussions and workshops at more than 170 national and international gastroenterology meetings.

John Noble, MACP, received the Society of General Internal Medicine's Robert J. Glaser Award. Dr. Noble is currently vice-chair of the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations.

Robert W. Schrier, MACP, has been named the Leon Schiff State of the Art Lecturer by the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. The lecture is intended to honor the association's first president Leon Schiff, MD. Lecturers are chosen for this honor because of outstanding contributions they have made to clinical investigation in the field of liver disease. Dr. Schrier has been professor and chairman of the department of medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine since 1976.

Valerie E. Stone, FACP, Jacob T. Cross, ACP Member, and Maxine A. Papadakis, ACP Member, were appointed by DHHS Secretary Donna E. Shalala as members of the newly chartered Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. Dr. Stone is associate professor of both medicine and public health at Brown University. Dr. Cross is program director and assistant professor at Louisiana State University Medical Center. Dr. Papadakis is professor of clinical medicine and associate dean for student affairs at the University of California, San Francisco.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.