American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®



From the December 1998 ACP-ASIM Observer, copyright 1998 by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

At its recent annual meeting, The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) presented awards to a number of internists. Eugene D. Jacobson, FACP, received the AGA Julius Friedenwald Medal for Distinguished Service; Willis C. Maddrey, MACP, L. Borland Jr., FACP, Burton I. Korelitz, FACP, and Robert H. Schapiro, FACP, all received the AGA Distinguished Educator Award; and John H. Walsh, FACP, received the AGA Distinguished Achievement Award.

Billy F. Andrews, FACP, was appointed a visiting fellow of Green College, University of Oxford. Until his retirement in June of this year, Dr. Andrews was professor and chairman of the department of pediatrics at the University of Louisville School of Medicine and chief of staff at Kosair Children's Hospital.

Richard A. Dickey, FACP, assumed office as president-elect of the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists in May of this year. Dr. Dickey is in private practice in Hickory, N.C, and is board certified in internal medicine and endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism. He is also a clinical instructor in the department of internal medicine, division of endocrinology, at the Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Cyril M. Hetsko, FACP, was elected vice chairman of COLA's board of directors. COLA, previously known as the Commission on Office Laboratory Accreditations, is a nonprofit, physician-directed organization dedicated to promoting quality and excellence in patient care through voluntary education, achievement and accreditation programs. Dr. Hetsko, an ACP-ASIM Regent, is an internist and infectious disease specialist at the Dean Clinic in Madison, Wisc.

John W. Runyan Jr., MACP, has received a Pew Health Professions Commission 1998 primary care achievement award. The award recognizes the country's leading primary care providers, researchers and educators. Dr. Runyan created a system of neighborhood health clinics in Memphis, Tenn., that provide affordable primary care services to the underserved.

Eliljah Saunders, ACP-ASIM Member, has received the American Heart Association's Louis B. Russell Jr. Memorial Award for his work with undeserved populations. Dr. Sanders is associate professor in the department of medicine and head of the division of hypertension at the University of Maryland Hospital and School of Medicine in Baltimore.

Anthony D. So, FACP, has been selected as a 1998 Crown Fellow of the Aspen Institute's Henry Crown Fellowship Program. Selected from more than 200 candidates, Crown Fellows represent the highest standards of business and professional achievement. Dr. So is senior advisor to the administrator of the Agency for Health Care Policy Research in Washington.

Myron Weisfeldt, FACP, was one of three recipients of the American Heart Association's Gold Heart Award. This award is given to those individuals who render distinguished service in advancing the objectives of the association and make significant scientific contributions. Dr. Weisfeldt was president of the American Heart Association from 1989 to 1990.

Nanette K. Wenger, FACP, has been named the 1998 physician of the year by the American Heart Association. Dr. Wenger, a national authority on coronary heart disease in women and cardiac rehabilitation, is professor of medicine in the division of cardiology at Emory University School of Medicine, director of the Cardiac Clinics at Grady Memorial Hospital and consultant to the Emory Heart Center.

Elliott Wolfe, FACP, was awarded the American Medical Student Association's National Golden Apple for Teaching Excellence Award. Dr. Wolfe is associate professor of medicine and associate dean for student affairs at Stanford University School of Medicine.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Access this FREE online educational program to help you safely prescribe opioids and manage patients with chronic pain. Online CME is available. Find out more.

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Contribute to the ACP Education Fund and support our profession and the young minds starting their careers.

Share your love of medicine by making a charitable donation today! All donations are tax-deductible.