American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®



From the May 1998 ACP Observer, copyright 1998 by the American College of Physicians.

Joseph S. Gonnella, ACP Member, received the first founders award from the Hepatitis B Foundation's board of the directors for his contribution to the organization's "Cause For A Cure." Dr. Gonnella is a professor of medicine and founder and director of the Center for Research in Medical Education and Health Care at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia.

Tee L. Guidotti, FACP, has been elected a director for the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine for a three-year term. Dr. Guidotti was recently made a member through distinction of the faculty of occupational medicine of the Royal College of Physicians of London. Dr. Guidotti is a professor of occupational medicine at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Alberta.

Albert E. Gunn, FACP, has been elected chairman of the board of trustees of the Texas Medical Association Insurance Trust. Dr. Gunn is interim deputy chairman of the department of medical specialties and chief of the geriatrics section in the department of medicine at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. At the University of Texas-Houston Medical School, he is associate dean for admissions, associate professor of medicine and associate professor of family practice and community medicine.

Mahendr Kochar, FACP, has been selected to receive the Milwaukee Academy of Medicine's 1998 President's Award, given annually to a member who has enriched the Academy by his or her presence, work and personification of its motto: "We are not born unto ourselves." Dr. Kochar is Chair of the ACP Board of Governors. He is also chief of hypertension and associate chief of staff for education at the VA Medical Center in Milwaukee and a consultant to Froedtert Hospital.

Howard Koh, FACP, MPH, has been named the new Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health. Previously, he was director of cancer prevention and control at Boston University Medical Center and professor at the Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health.

F. Stuart Sanders, FACP, has been elected vice president of the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation. Dr. Sanders is a clinical associate professor at Emory University School of Medicine and director of the Habersham Cardiac Disease Reversal and Rehabilitation, Pulmonary Rehabilitation and LIFE Wellness Programs.

William W. Burgin, FACP, has received the Dr. Charles H. Hudson Award for Cardiopulmonary Public Health from the American Respiratory Care Foundation. Dr. Burgin is clinical assistant professor, medical director of the Respiratory Therapists Program and medical director of Principal Health Care at Del Mar College in Corpus Christi, Texas.

William M. Detmer, FACP, has been appointed vice president for clinical information products at Ovid Technologies in New York. Dr. Detmer is assistant professor of Health Evaluation Sciences at the University of Virginia and co-chair of the American Medical Informatics Association Internet Working Group.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview



Internist Archives Quick Links

What will you learn from your Annals Virtual Patient?

Annals Virtual Patient

Annals Virtual Patients is a unique patient care simulator that mirrors real patient care decisions and consequences. CME Credit and MOC Points are available. Start off with a FREE sample case. Start your journey now.

Internal Medicine Meeting 2015 Live Simulcast!

Internal Medicine Meeting 2015 Live Simulcast

Unable to attend the meeting this year? On Saturday, May 2, seven sessions will be streamed live from the meeting. Register for the simulcast and earn CME credit after watching each session. Watch it live or download for later viewing.