American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


ACP honors physicians, organizations for service

From the May 1998 ACP Observer, copyright 1998 by the American College of Physicians.

At the Convocation Ceremony at Annual Session, ACP presented the following awards:

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine

Philip W. Brickner, FACP

Dr. Brickner developed one of the nation's earliest departments of community medicine at St. Vincent's Hospital in New York City and has served as a pioneer in designing effective methods for caring for the homeless. He also created a national funding program to support these services.

Jerome P. Kassirer, MACP

As editor-in-chief of the New England Journal of Medicine, Dr. Kassirer has fostered professionalism, protected medical education and research, and defended the proper practice of medicine.

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine

Vivian W. Pinn, MD

Dr. Pinn, director of the Office of Research on Women's Health at the National Institutes of Health, is a strong advocate for the roles of minority physicians and proper health care for African Americans. She has also served as a spokesperson on women's health.

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians

James P. Nolan, MACP

Dr. Nolan, distinguished service professor at the State University College of New York at Buffalo, is an eminent chairman of medicine who has given untiringly of himself to ACP as a Regent and as a member of numerous ACP committees.

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine

Thomas A. Waldmann, MD

Dr. Waldmann, chief of the metabolism branch of the National Cancer Institute, has revolutionized the field of immunology and created a new paradigm regarding the pathogenesis of immunodeficiency and immune-mediated diseases.

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution in the Health Field

Fundacian Mexicana para la Salud

The Fundacian Mexicana para la Salud is a nonprofit philanthropic organization that supports the development of and search for excellence of medicine in Mexico.

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health

David T. Dodd, MD

Dr. Dodd has been medical director of the Tennessee Medical Foundation's Physician Health Program for 14 years and has been instrumental in the rehabilitation of hundreds of physicians with emotional and mental illnesses and chemical dependency. His work has been used to develop similar programs for nurses, pharmacists, dentists, psychologists and lawyers.

The American College of Physicians Distinguished Teacher Award

Alvan R. Feinstein, MACP

Dr. Feinstein, Sterling professor of medicine and epidemiology at Yale University School of Medicine, has been key in formulating the principles of clinical epidemiology as a new basic science.

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award (#1)

R. Brian Haynes, FACP

Dr. Haynes, chief of the health information research unit at McMaster University, has made a notable impact on how internists work with medical evidence. He helped develop a more informative "structured" abstract that allows readers to quickly scan journals and is the founding editor of ACP Journal Club, which links research to practice in internal medicine through summaries of important articles.

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award (#2)

James J. O'Connell III, MD

Dr. O'Connell, president of the Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program, has been working full time with homeless individuals and families since 1985.

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion to a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients

Edward Shapiro, MD

For more than 30 years, Dr. Shapiro has served as a model teacher for hundreds of residents at University of California School of Medicine and the Los Angeles County/USC Medical Center. Dr. Shapiro also ran a busy practice in Los Angeles and saw numerous uninsured patients who were short of funds free of charge.

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine

Rita Charon, ACP Member

Dr. Charon, associate professor of clinical medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University, has taught courses on literature and medicine, written widely on literature and medicine, and served as a consultant and director for medical films and videotapes.

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award

Donald M. Knowlan, FACP

Dr. Knowlan, professor of medicine at Georgetown University School of Medicine and director of medical education at Arlington Hospital in Virginia, has been a volunteer teacher of students and residents at Arlington for more than 30 years.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.