American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®



From the November 1997 ACP Observer, copyright 1997 by the American College of Physicians.

Saeed Ahmad, FACP, has been conferred fellowship in the European Society of Cardiology. Dr. Ahmad is a professor of cardiology in the department of medicine at West Virginia University and president and chief executive officer for Cardio-Diagnostic Clinique in Fairmont, W.Va.

William P. Arend, FACP, was awarded the 1997 Novartis-ILAR-Rheumatology Prize along with Jean-Michel Dayer, MD, for their work on natural cytokine inhibitors in rheumatic diseases. Dr. Arend is professor of medicine and head of the division of rheumatology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine in Denver, Colo.

Doris G. Bartuska, FACP, received an honorary doctor of science degree from Wilkes University this spring. Dr. Bartuska is emeritus professor of medicine, endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism at Allegheny University of Health Sciences/MCP in Philadelphia.

The American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) has decided to rename its prestigious "Distinguished Lecture," awarded annually to someone who has made a notable contribution in the field of digestive diseases. The lecture will be designated the "J. Edward Berk Distinguished Lecture," in honor of J. Edward Berk, MACP, as of the ACG's annual meeting. Dr. Berk, a distinguished professor of medicine at the University of California, Irvine, College of Medicine, is a former ACP Governor of Southern California Region II.

Gerard N. Burrow, FACP, has been named the David Paige Smith Professor of Medicine, a position he assumed upon completing his term as the dean of the Yale University School of Medicine in July.

Frank DiPillo, FACP, has been made acting chairman of the department of internal medicine at Long Island College Hospital. The former vice chairman of the department is a practitioner, teacher and researcher in the field of hematology and medical oncology at the hospital. He is also director of the hospital's Othmer Cancer Center and an associate professor of medicine at SUNY Health Science Center at Brooklyn.

Michael H. Kaufman, ACP Member, has been elected president of the New Mexico Medical Society. Dr. Kaufman practices internal medicine in Taos, N.M.

"The Interventional Cardiac Catheterization Handbook" by Morton J. Kern, FACP, has been listed in "Doody's Rating Service: A Buying Guide to the 250 Best Health Sciences Books, 1997" published by Doody Publishing in Oak Park, Ill.

Faroque A. Khan, MACP, has received the Community Education Award from the New Cassel Executive Council. Dr. Khan, of East Meadow, New York, is chair of the department of medicine at Nassau County Medical Center.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Prescribe Opioids Safely

Access this FREE online educational program to help you safely prescribe opioids and manage patients with chronic pain. Online CME is available. Find out more.

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Inspire the Next Generation of Medicine

Contribute to the ACP Education Fund and support our profession and the young minds starting their careers.

Share your love of medicine by making a charitable donation today! All donations are tax-deductible.