American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®


College announces 12 award winners for 1997...

From the June 1997 ACP Observer, copyright 1997 by the American College of Physicians.

Forty-nine physicians and organizations received honors from ACP at Annual Session in Philadelphia. Of those honored, 37 were Fellows who advanced to Mastership.

Out of a total of 133 nominations received by the College, 14 were for women, 12 were for IMGs and six were for African Americans. ACP urges the Board of Regents to continue to submit nominations for women and underrepresented groups for its 1998 awards.

John Phillips Memorial Award. Anthony S. Fauci, FACP, of Washington, D.C., was honored for distinguished contributions in clinical medicine. Dr. Fauci is director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, as well as director of AIDS Research at the National Institutes of Health. Over the past 14 years, he has led the study of the immuno-pathogenic mechanisms of HIV infection. (For more information, see Dr. Fauci on combination therapies, vaccines for AIDS, May 1997 ACP Observer.)

James D. Bruce Memorial Award. Two individuals were honored for distinguished contributions in preventive medicine: David Satcher, MD, PhD, of Atlanta, Ga., and Joseph F. Fraumeni Jr., FACP, of Bethesda, Md. Dr. Satcher is director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, as well as administrator of the Agency for Toxic Substance and Disease Registry. Dr. Fraumeni, a pioneer in the field of cancer epidemiology, is director of the epidemiology and biostatistics program in the division of cancer etiology of the National Cancer Institute.

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award. Michael Bernstein, MACP, of Summit, N.J., was honored for outstanding service to ACP. Dr. Bernstein, clinical professor of medicine at Columbia University College of Physicians, has served as ACP's Governor for New Jersey and a College Regent; he was also the College's last Secretary General. As Chair of the Credentials Subcommittee, Dr. Bernstein broadened the criteria for Fellowship without diluting its standards, opening membership to many internists who were previously unable to advance. As Chair of the Membership Policy Committee, he espoused the chapterization of the College; promoted increased participation of women, ethnic minority and IMG physicians in the College governance structure; enhanced the role of Associates; and shepherded the continuous growth of membership. Dr. Bernstein was voted Outstanding Governor of the College in 1983 and was made a Master of the College in 1992.

American College of Physicians Award. D. Lynn Loriaux, FACP, of West Linn, Ore., was honored for distinguished contributions in science as related to medicine. Dr. Loriaux is professor and chair of the department of medicine and head of the division of endocrinology, diabetes and clinical nutrition at the Oregon Health Sciences University.

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award. The Susan G. Koman Breast Cancer Foundation, of Dallas, Texas, was honored for distinguished contributions in the health field. The Susan G. Koman Breast Cancer Foundation has worked tirelessly to raise money for breast cancer research and to educate women, the lay media, and government officials about this disease. It has also provided young scientists with the opportunity to conduct basic and clinical research in the field of breast cancer through its peer-reviewed grants program.

William C. Menninger Memorial Award. Harold Alan Pincus, MD, of Chevy Chase, Md., was honored for distinguished contributions to the science of mental health. Dr. Pincus is clinical professor at George Washington University and is also in private practice in Chevy Chase, Md. He has made outstanding contributions to the medical literature and research in the field of psychiatry.

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #1. Richard J. Baron, FACP, of Philadelphia, Pa., was chosen as the clinician whose innovative work is helping improve clinical care in the field of internal medicine. Until recently, Dr. Baron was senior vice president of Health Partners, a not-for-profit managed care organization that was founded to deliver care to Medicaid recipients in Philadelphia.

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #2. A. Janelle Goetcheus, MD, of Washington, D.C., was chosen as the individual whose original approach in the delivery of health care or on the design of facilities for its delivery will increase its clinical and/or economic effectiveness. Dr. Goetcheus is medical director of Healthcare for the Homeless Project of Washington, D.C.

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award. J. J. Kirschenfeld, FACP, of Montgomery, Ala., was honored as an outstanding practitioner of internal medicine. Dr. Kirschenfeld is professor of medicine at the University of Alabama School of Medicine and has been in private practice in Alabama since 1946. He is the quintessential internist; he is hard working, idealistic and committed both to his patients and to his profession.

Distinguished Teacher Award. Walter Lester Henry, MACP, of Washington, D.C., was honored for his role as a teacher in the field of medical education. Dr. Henry is emeritus professor of medicine and magnificent professor at Howard University. Several generations of residents have grown up knowing him as the ideal teacher and leader in the field of endocrinology.

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award. Kenneth Ludmerer, FACP, of St. Louis, Mo., was honored for scholarly activities in the realm of the humanities or in the history of medicine. Dr. Ludmerer is professor of medicine and professor of history at Washington University. His work has focused on the history of medicine, especially the history of medical education.

...and 37 new Masters

The following members advanced to Mastership at Annual Session:

John Robert Ball, Philadelphia, Pa.
Christine K. Cassel, New York, N.Y.
Kanu Chatterjee, San Francisco, Calif.
Inder J. Chopra, Los Angeles, Calif.
Linda Hawes Clever, Mill Valley, Calif.
Eugene Coodley, Long Beach, Calif.
Anthony S. Fauci, Bethesda, Md.
Donald I. Feinstein, Pasadena, Calif.
Robert Fletcher, Newton, Mass.
Suzanne Fletcher, Newton, Mass.
John Franklin, Norfolk, Va.
William B. Galbraith, Iowa City, Iowa
Edward B. Gilmore, Bar Harbor, Maine
Harvey R. Gralnick, Kensington, Md.
Robert L. Grissom, Omaha, Neb.
Sudhir Gupta, Irvine, Calif.
Lillian Haddock-Suarez, Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico
William J. Holloway, Wilmington, Del.
Elmer J. Holzinger, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Norman M. Kaplan, Dallas, Texas
Harry R. Kimbal, Philadelphia, Pa.
Gerald S. Levey, Los Angeles, Calif.
Stuart Levin, Chicago, Ill.
Robert Marshall, Huntington, W.Va.
Donald B. Martin, Bryn Mawr, Pa.
Ernest L. Mazzaferri, Columbus, Ohio
Jock Murray, Halifax, Nova Scotia
Lawrence E. Shulman, Bethesda, Md.
Alan M. Siegal, Birmingham, Ala.
Jeremiah G. Tilles, Irvine, Calif.
Robert Utiger, Weston, Mass.
Eleanor Z. Wallace, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Nanette Kass Wenger, Atlanta, Ga.
Sankey V. Williams, Philadelphia, Pa.
Tadataka Yamada, Philadelphia, Pa.
Quentin D. Young, Chicago, Ill.
Rodolfo V. Young, Panama City, Panama

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.