American College of Physicians: Internal Medicine — Doctors for Adults ®



From the March 1997 ACP Observer, copyright 1997 by the American College of Physicians.

Bruce Davidson, FACP, has been elected president of the National Tuberculosis Controllers Association. Dr. Davidson is a pulmonary-critical care medicine specialist, associate professor of medicine at Graduate Hospital and has been director of Philadelphia's tuberculosis program since 1993.

Neal Flomenbaum, FACP, has been named emergency physician-in-chief at The New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center. He was previously chairman of emergency medicine at The Long Island College Hospital and a professor of clinical medicine at the State University of New York, Health Science Center at Brooklyn.

J. Richard Gaintner, FACP, was named chief executive officer of the Shands Integrated Health System, a part of the University of Florida Health Science Center. Dr. Gainter is currently president of CareGroup, the academic integrated delivery system created by Beth Israel and Deaconess hospitals in Boston.

Pran M. Kar, FACP, has been elected vice chairman of the Florida Medical Association—Young Physician Section. Dr. Pran is in private practice in Orlando, Fla.

Pascal J. Imperato, FACP, has been awarded an honorary doctor of science degree from Tulane University for his contribution to public health and tropical medicine in the United States and Africa. Dr. Imperato is currently the distinguished service professor and chair of the department of preventive medicine and community health at State University of New York, Health Sciences Center at Brooklyn.

Joseph Loscalzo, FACP, has been appointed chairman of the division of medicine at Boston University School of Medicine, physician-in-chief at Boston Medical Center and director of the Evans Memorial Department of Clinical Research. Previously, Dr. Loscalzo served as vice chairman of cardiovascular medicine at Boston University School of Medicine and chief of cardiology at Boston University Medical Center Hospital.

Louis H. Miller, FACP, has received an award for his work in infectious disease research worth $50,000 from Bristol-Myers Squibb. Dr. Miller is chief of the laboratory of parasitic disease at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease at the National Institutes of Health.

David B. Nash, FACP, has been named associate dean for health policy at Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University. In addition to his new role, Dr. Nash will remain director of the Office of Health Policy and Clinical Outcomes and associate professor of medicine at Jefferson Medical College.

Jerry H. Gurwitz, FACP, was appointed executive director of the Meyers Primary Care Institute, a partnership between Fallon Healthcare System and the University of Massachusetts Medical Center. Dr. Gurwitz also received the 1996 Leon I. Goldberg Young Investigators Award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Tufts University School of Medicine has named John T. Harrington, FACP, its new dean. Dr. Harrington, a Tufts professor since 1971, served as interim dean for the past year, and was a professor of medicine there since 1979.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has endowed a faculty chair in the name of Richard C. Reynolds, FACP, at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ). Dr. Reynolds is retiring as executive vice president of the foundation and a past dean of UMDNJ. Jeffrey D. Carson, FACP, will be the first faculty member to occupy the Reynolds chair in internal medicine. Dr. Carson is professor of medicine and chief of the medical school's division of general internal medicine.

Thomas J. Ryan, FACP, was named the 1996 recipient of the American Heart Association Council on Clinical Cardiology's James B. Herrick Award, honoring his outstanding contributions during his career as a clinician, scientist and teacher. Dr. Ryan is a professor of medicine at Boston University School of Medicine.

The Hartford/American Federation for Aging Research Medical Student Geriatric Scholars Program has awarded research grants to Todd D. Bailey, ACP Student Member, St. Louis University Health Science Center; David Broumandi, ACP Student Member, Emory University; Kathleen H. Burgess, ACP Student Member, University of Washington School of Medicine; Yu-Chi E. Chung, ACP Student Member, of UMDNJ—New Jersey Medical School; Paul R. Cunningham, ACP Student Member, University of South Carolina School of Medicine; David Adam Mandel, ACP Student Member, Medical College of Ohio; Jill M. Mhyre, ACP Student Member, University of Michigan School of Medicine; Hoang N. Pham, ACP Student Member, University of Pennsylvania; Linda P. Vandaele, ACP Student Member, The University of Chicago; Crispin J. Webb II, ACP Student Member, University of South Dakota School of Medicine; and Timothy B. Willingham, ACP Student Member, Mayo Clinic/Mayo Foundation.

This is a printer-friendly version of this page

Print this page  |  Close the preview




Internist Archives Quick Links

Not an ACP Member?

Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you.

Not an ACP Member? Join today and discover the benefits waiting for you

ACP offers different categories of membership depending on your career stage and professional status. View options, pricing and benefits.

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

A New Way to Ace the Boards!

Ensure you're board-exam ready with ACP's Board Prep Ace - a multifaceted, self-study program that prepares you to pass the ABIM Certification Exam in internal medicine. Learn more.